University of West Attica, Faculty of Engineering

Campus I

Department of




Administrational structure

The Department of Biomedical Engineering is composed of two Divisions.

According to Law 4485/2017 of the Hellenic Gorernment the Department's decision bodies are: the Assembly of the Department, the Administrative Council of the Department and the Head of Department.

Similarly, according to the previous laws, the decision bodies of the Divisions are the General Assembly of the Division and the Director of the Division.

According to the law, the Department's educational personnel, the special educational personnel and also the students' representatives participate in all the bodies of the Department.

For the academic years 2016-2017 till 2017-2018 the elected Head of the Department is Professor Ioannis Kandarakis, Ph.D. The Department's secretary is Mrs. Kalliopi Thiakou (supervisor of the Secretary Office, tel. +30-210-5385855, +30-210-5385303).

The Divisions of the Department are:

Division A': Biosciences and Biomedical Informatics


Dionisis Cavouras

Evagelia Patsavoudi - Division Director for the academic year 2017-2018

Erricos Ventouras

Assistant Professors

Pantelis Asvestas

Dimitrios Glotsos

Ioannis Kalatzis

Spyridon Kostopoulos

Ekaterini Skouroliakou

Division B': Biomedical Technology


Georgios Foundos - Division Director for the academic year 2017-2018

Ioannis Kandarakis - Head of the Department for the academic years 2016-2017 and 2017-2018

Vassilios Spyropoulos

Associate Professors

Maria Kallergi

Ioannis Valais

Assistant Professors

Nektarios Kalyvas

Panagiotis Liaparinos

Georgios Loudos